Donna and Jake’s Blog

My RV Trip! Read all about it here!

Mexico and Shopping

Feb 2, 2009 – 7:49pm

Hi. This morning we crossed the border to spend some time in Mexico. Mexico is about, I don’t know, about 10 – 12 miles away. It’s not far at all. So, we crossed the border at 9:30am knowing that we have to be out of Mexico before 1pm. Why?? Flip back three or four blog posts about our trip to Mexico and you’ll see why. If you wait until after 1pm, the line to get out of Mexico is unbelievable! Like a 2 hour wait in line. Take a look at that blog, if you want to see the pictures!

I’m being more descriptive than normal in this blog because somehow, from somewhere, a whole flock of readers visited my blog and shot my blog visitor numbers thru the roof. Thank you! Okay, so we went to Mexico this morning and do you really think I left Mexico empty handed?? No way!! I bought a leather little backpack to carry my stuff in. I never had a pocket book, I’m not a pocket book kinda chick, but I love my mini back pack to tote around, I have one already…..but the one I have is not leather. Sooooo………

So, there was a pretty nice leather back pack that was on sale for $35 dollars in Mexico. I nicely offered $15 dollars. The sales guy said, “No, for you $20 dollars.” I said, “Nooooooo, for me, $15 dollars.” The sales guy said, “$17 dollars”. I showed him a ten dollar bill and a five dollar bill. That caught his eye and the negotiation was over then and there. I walked out of Mexico with my neat new leather bag. But, don’t think that’s all we bought!

We all (there was 5 of us together…..great company), we all went to the bakery and oh, Mexico make the best bread. Don’t laugh, I mean it. It’s a great tasting bread, sweet taste, like sugar sweet. Tastes so good. We had bought some last week, but quickly ate it when we got home. A mini loaf of bread (10 inches long) is $$$, nope, only 30 American cents!! So we bought 10 mini loafs. Then waited around until 11am, because you can’t buy any liquor until after 11am and there’s no way I’m leaving Mexico without getting my frozen strawberry Margarita.

So we went to a little outdoor cafe and ordered some Nachos and Margaritas and had a nice time. At 12:30 we got in line to leave Mexico and this time it was only a 1/2 hour wait to show my passport to the border patrol officer.

After we left Mexico we stopped at a small Date Factory, Sun Garden Date Factory. The Date trees look alot like huge massive palm trees and they are only picked of dates in September. Once a year! That’s what they told us. Learn something new everyday. They have date milk shakes there which are pretty good, not bad at all. Like a vanilla milk but with a hint of taste of dates. Yummy.

After we left that Date Factory, hmmm, there was no tour there. I like tours, but no tours at this place. After we left the Date Factory, we went to the Paradise Casi—well, I’m sure you already know how the rest of our evening ended! 🙂 I won $45 dollars!! Have a good night and I’m not sure what we are doing tomorrow, but we did make a few reservations to attend some attractions later this weeks. Can’t wait to get some great pictures!! Nite Nite!

February 2, 2009 Posted by | RV, RVers, RVing, Uncategorized, vacation | Leave a comment